Back in May during Google’s annual I/O developer conference, the company announced brand new features coming to Google Photos which aimed make sharing content even easier. Now the features are rolling out.
Google today announced that the new Shared Libraries and Suggested Sharing sheet are rolling out to users on Android, iOS, and the web. The new Shared Libraries feature will let users share their entire photo library, just certain photos, or even photos starting from a certain date with a person of their choice.
Once the photo library has been shared with that person, any new additions to the library will automatically populate. The person you share with will even get a notification that new content is there to look at. They can then choose to save the photos they want to keep around.
The other new feature is a new Sharing tab. With it, users will be able to see which photos and videos have been shared to them, and what they’ve shared, and Google Photos will even suggest some photos and/or videos that it thinks you’d like to spread out.
According to Google, this works by Google Photos recognizing an important event, automatically choosing the best photos that you took from that particular moment, and then determining who you might want to share those images with. The app will let users edit what is shared, too, either adding or deleting content and picking people. In addition, it will populate a new shared album, so your friends and family members that use Google Photos can even add their own photos or videos from the same event if they want. If they do, the originator of the album will get a notification that new content has been added.